Phoenix Drunk Driving Accident Attorney
If you or a loved one suffered an injury in a crash with a drunk driver in Phoenix, you may be eligible to receive compensation. Contact the Phoenix drunk driving accident lawyers at Begam Marks & Traulsen, P.A., for experienced representation.
Drunk driving is a serious problem across the United States, but Phoenix’s busy highways make it even more dangerous. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2,912 fatalities in crashes involving drunk drivers occurred in Arizona between 2003 and 2012. Nearly 2% of Arizona adults admit to driving under the influence at least once in the 30 days prior to the survey.
What Damages Can You Recover for a Drunk Driving Accident?
If the court determines a drunk driver was responsible for your injury, it may reward you certain types of damages. The first thing you could get compensation for is medical expenses. If your injury forced you to seek medical attention, have surgery, or any other medical bill, the defendant may need to compensate you for the costs.
The courts may award you compensation for the time you needed away from work. Lost wages, including overtime and vacation time, may be part of the financial obligation the negligent party owes you. Lost wages could also cover a difference in earning potential if your injury affected your capability to earn the same salary as before the accident.
The defendant may also need to compensate you for pain and suffering. This compensation accounts for your change in overall quality of life. Your Phoenix drunk driving accident attorney may bring in people who can testify about your quality of life before and after the car accident.
Not every type of compensation focuses on helping the accident victim recover, however. Defendants may have to pay punitive damages if the court determines they were fully aware of the reckless nature of their actions. Punitive damages are common in drunk driving cases because most courts consider drunk driving a reckless act. The court may assign any amount in punitive damages if it believes the defendant needs further punishment.
In drunk driving cases, the victim may receive compensation from another party. Sometimes the court determines the drunk driver is not the only responsible party in a drunk driving accident. The establishment that over-served the driver or person who provided the alcohol could also owe the accident victim compensation. The bar or restaurant could be held liable for damages through dram shop liability.
If you lost a loved one due to a drunk driving accident, you may be able to recover compensation through a wrongful death claim. Learn more about your legal options by speaking with a wrongful death attorney.
Why Do You Need a Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer?
Some people believe drunk driving accident cases are straightforward enough that they can handle them without a lawyer. However, pursuing a drunk driving claim without a lawyer is extremely difficult. A Phoenix drunk driving accident lawyer from our law firm can help by taking over the legal duties while you focus on recovering from the motor vehicle accident.
Additionally, an experienced Arizona drunk driving attorney will know how to navigate the complexities of Arizona DUI laws. The Phoenix personal injury attorneys at Begam Marks & Traulsen, P.A., have been helping Phoenix citizens for more than 60 years.
What are the DUI Penalties in Arizona?
When police pull over an intoxicated driver with a blood alcohol content level of 0.08% or higher, they will charge the driver with driving under the influence (DUI). States around the country are cracking down on DUIs because they can lead to serious injuries or fatalities. Under Arizona law, the first offense leads to at least 10 days in jail and a fine of at least $1,250. Depending on how intoxicated the driver was, this may vary. Drivers in these situations will likely also need to go to a driving education class, get professional treatment, and install a device in all their vehicles that does not allow the car to start without the driver passing a breathalyzer test.
When intoxicated drivers commit two or more criminal offenses, the penalties are significantly more severe. They will face at least 90 days in jail as well as at least a $3,000 fine. They will also have their license suspended for one year.
Phoenix Lawyers for Drunk Driving Accident Claims
Contact Begam Marks & Traulsen, P.A., for a team of Phoenix drunk driving accident attorneys who will do all they can to get you the compensation that you deserve. Our law firm offers dedicated legal representation for personal injury cases and free initial consultations.